Two worlds collide: Golden Globes

They say it takes ten years to become an overnight success.

As I gazed at the room of starlets, all beaming with nominations and accolades, I couldn’t help but wonder if the same rule applied to them.

In the land of LA, and it is indeed a land unto itself, you are surrounded by beautiful women every minute of the day.  In the plastic surgery capital of the world, everyone can be beautiful; and everyone is.

So, LA is one thing.  But when you happen to cross the uncrossable tape and enter into the Land of the Stars, beauty takes on a whole different dimension.  Women actually sparkle.  Men, literally glisten.

And, there I stood, in the middle of it all.  Smack dab in the center of all of this glistening sparkle.  Listening to whispers of promises and movies to be made.  A world that, at one time, only existed in my world on the little television set I watched growing up.

Something suddenly struck me.  I didn’t feel out-of-place.  There wasn’t an ounce in my body that didn’t believe that I belonged there.  I felt as talented, as capable and as deserving, as any other “star” in that ballroom.  I felt proud of myself.  Proud that I had done the work, that I had trained, that I had persevered and that I had gotten myself to this point in my life and I felt very happy!

And as Quentin Tarantino passed by, all I could think was how I wished my father were alive.

He would have enjoyed this.

2 thoughts on “Two worlds collide: Golden Globes

  1. Mary Beth says:

    Oh Jessi, Dad would be so proud of you. He IS proud of you, and if he were here, he would have been in awe of the picture of you and Quenten Tarentino.

Leave a Reply

