Home is Where the Dream Thrives

So I just read Pam Beesley’s blog about acting.  It gave me some hope.  For those of you who don’t know, Pam Beesley is married to Jim on The Office; )  No seriously, Jenna Fischer wrote a pretty informative blog on acting that probably would have widened my eyes a bit to the business had I not already been here a good eight or so years.  For the newbies out there, there is some great advice here:  http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=27753303&blogID=141657788

Do you ever look back and think about all the good advice that you just did not take.  I had a moment of that earlier today.  When I first got out here, my friend Ashley said to me upon hearing of my hopes and dreams of becoming an actress, “Don’t be like all the other douchebag girls that come out here claiming to search for their dream when really all they are searching for is some lame ass guy.”  To this, I scoffed.  “HA! You don’t have to worry about that with me!  I am DE-TERM-INED! Nothing is going to stand in my way!  Focus is my middle name!”  Cut to eight years, four “heartbreaks”, two therapists and one HUGE Brazilian MISTAKE later:  and here I am!

Back to Pam Beesely.  I took it as a sign from the universe that I was to both, look into the acting class that she recommended and listen to her advice about not putting my personal life on hold “just in case I get an acting gig!”

So, I have taken to nesting!  No, I am not prego!  Yet!  But!  “I am no longer keeping my personal life on hold!” ; )  I think that it is important, well for me it is ridiculously important for me to feel organized and comfortable in my home before being able to create.  This may just be another form of my unending procrastination, but I swear it works.  So, I am going to share with you what I have been doing for the past week!  I have been honing my domestic skills, preparing our home so not only can I be creative but so my charmingly obsessive compulsive hubby can feel comfortable studying!

My husband’s first day of graduate school was yesterday and I couldn’t be more proud of him.  He functions..well, we function MUCH BETTER as a unit when the house is organized and clean!  So, this is where my energy has been going!   We wanted our house to be fun and young and homey; so there are A LOT of colors!  I am in love!

I guess Pam’s advice has paid off because last Friday, I had two auditions.  One for NCIS-which was a straight to producer session!  If you remember a while back-I convinced myself that I had screwed up a major guest star audition for NCIS.  I LOVED this character and was so hard on myself afterwards because I thought for sure they hated me!  This goes to show you-you never know!  The auditions that you think that you nail, you never hear back from and the auditions you swear you bomb usually are the ones that they remember.

Going straight to producers makes me feel good.  It assures me that I am taking the right steps.  Yes, I have been out here a while, but just like any other business it takes a while to build relationships and advance in your career.  Skipping pre-reads, which is where the casting director is just feeling you out for the first time before they allow you in a room full of producers, is an accomplishment in itself.

The second audition was for Law and Oder: Los Angeles.  Side note:  This is a great show to be filming in Los Angeles!  There are going to be so many opportunities for actors to guest and co star!  So, the second audition was a pre-read.  Even though these casting directors cast me in a co starring role in How I Met Your Mother, it is a new show and it has been a while since they have seen me.

The audition was for a golf pro who turns up dead.  It was a nice guest star with five or so scenes.  I really did well in the room.  Sometimes, you just know when you are nailing it, sometimes you don’t have a clue but on this day, I knew.  I got a callback for producers twenty minutes after I left the office.  T.V. moves fast.  Like, lightning fast.  My callback was that same day. So, all in all I had three auditions in one day!  Was it because I was redirecting my focus a bit to my homelife?  I believe that is part of it.

As actors, we need balance in our lives.  I love acting with all of my heart but I love my family more.  Sometimes, it is good to remind ourselves of this.  So, to go back to the advice that my friend Ashley gave me.  She was partially right.  If you are young and new to LA, it is solid advice to maintain your focus on yourself and your career.  Try not to get sidetracked with the wrong guys, girls, scene, etc.  I can honestly say that the reason that I am able to continue on this journey of chasing my dream is because of the love and support from home.  My husband, my friends, my family, my clients, even my animals.

Don’t ever take these things for granted.  On a day to day basis, they feed the very soul on which this town sometimes tramples.  Love your career and love your passion, but love the people that love you even more.  Do what it takes to create a solid, comfortable home base and every other thing will find its’ place.  Live, Love, Laugh and Create!

One thought on “Home is Where the Dream Thrives

  1. Mary Beth says:

    Jessi, I really enjoyed this blog. You are right to want to focus on your house and your family. It is really important to be able to do the things you love and do them well. And an organized, homey, cozy, loving, clean, uncluttered space is really necessary. I wish you so much wonderful luck on all your auditions. You are working so hard, but I know in my heart that that will only bring good things your way. I feel your day will definately come. It’s only a matter of when, not if. I am so very proud of you and I love you so much.

Leave a Reply

